Rex Omar Re-Elected As GHAMRO Board Chairman

More articles

- Advertisement -
Chris Osei
Chris Osei
The writer is Osei Chris Kofi. I have three strong passions in life — football, blogging and movies — in that order. I love spending time with friends talking about the important things in life and hate nothing more than ‘authority’ and hypocrisy. My personal believe in life is that once an individual sets his/her mind to achieve something, it is totally possible. And oh!, I am a strong Lannister, because I always pay my debt. For writing or fixing gigs, contact

The Ghana Music Rights Organisation (GHAMRO) saw its previous Board members relieved of their duties at the end of their four-year tenure of office. However, an electoral committee, which was put together during a general meeting in October 2020 failed to organise elections on time. This created a vacuum in succession and resulted in the need for that electoral committee to be dissolved.

Consequently, the Directors drew on Section 4.7 of the GHAMRO Constitution and appointed a five members Election Committee made up of Augustina Addison (Chairperson), Eric Afriyie, Haruna Sungumo Abdul-Aziz, Seth Kwaku Amponsah, and Kwabena Donkor Jethro on Monday, April 26th, 2021 in order to provide a Board for the Society on or by the 20th of May 2022.

READ ALSO: PHOTOS: Taxi Driver, Kwesi Ackon ‘Smiles’ For The First Time As Asempa FM Present Him Ghc25,000 For His Honesty To Fishmonger Who Left Ghc8,400 In His Car

Legal turmoil ensued during this period. An interlocutory injunction was filed against the outfit to restrain them from conducting Board elections on February 9, 2022.  The lawyers of both sides were engaged in a lengthy and cumbersome back and forth tussle of motions until finally, the court dismissed the case in favour of GHAMRO, enabling them to hold elections for their society.

On the 15th of May, 2022, the stage was set for the commencement of elections. There were ten centres in operation on that day: Members in Brong Ahafo, Ashanti, Central, Volta, and Northern Regions voted at the Centre for National Culture in their respective capitals. Voters in Accra cast their ballots at CIBT, those in Western Region at Melody Hotel – Takoradi, those in Oti at Good Morning Hotel – Kpasa, those in Upper East at Asongetaaba – Bolgatanga, and those in Upper West at Royal Lodge Hotel – Wa.

Voting was conducted by the Electoral Commission of Ghana with the supervision of the Ghamro’s Election Committee.

READ ALSO: Netizens React As Photos Of Troll Strongman Jabbed Over His ‘Nkronsakronsa’ Face Surface Online

The successful elections began at 8:30 AM and lasted till 3:00 PM at all centres. The candidates for the elections were put into four groups as outlined in Section 4.2 of the GHAMRO Constitution and are as follows:


     Kwakye Kwabena Kabobo

     Kwame Adinkra

     Oheneba Kissi

     Diana Hopeson

     Kofi Abraham

     Rex Owusu Marfo


    John Mensah Sarpong

   Benjamin Mensah

   Francis Omari Adofo


   Benny Wood Ruthy

   George Ofori Atta

   Elizabeth Tagoe

  Yaw Agyemang-Badu


 Ernest Kwesi Ennin

Francis Boahene

When all was said and done and the votes cast were collated and counted, the results were as follows:


 Kwakye Kwabena Kabobo                           113 votes

Kwame Adinkra                                         84 votes

Oheneba Kissi                                           116 votes

Diana Hopeson                               370 votes   ELECTED

Kofi Abraham                                359 votes   ELECTED Rex Owusu Marfo                          343 votes   ELECTED


    John Mensah Sarpong                                        91 votes

   Benjamin Mensah                                                  43 votes

   Francis Omare Adofo                 332 votes   ELECTED


   Benny Wood Ruthy                                             117 votes

   George Ofori Atta                                               53 votes

   Elizabeth Tagoe                         338 votes   ELECTED

   Yaw Agyemang-Badu                 360 votes   ELECTED


  Ernest Kwesi Ennin                                              109 votes

  Francis Boahene                      349 votes   ELECTED

In collaboration with the Electoral Commission of Ghana, results were collated and declared the 2022 GHAMRO BOARD ELECTED as follows:

·   Diana Hopeson                            Composer

·   Kofi Abraham                            Composer

·   Rex Owusu Marfo                         Composer

·   Francis Omare Adofo                    Publisher

·   Elizabeth Tagoe                            Performer

·   Yaw Agyemang-Badu                    Performer

·   Francis Boahene                           Producer

The newly elected seven (7) member board were sworn into office by a High Court Judge, Her lordship Justice Hafisata Amaleboba (Mrs) on the 23 March 2022 at the GHAMRO Board Room for the commencement of their four (4) years term which will end in 2026.

Per article 4.2.2 of the Ghamro’s constitution, the board balloted to elect the leadership which four persons contested for the positions of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson respectively as follows:


· Diana Hopeson got one vote (1)                                           

· Rex Owusu Marfo (Rex Omar) got six votes (6 ) –  Elected


·  Francis Omare Adofo got five votes (5) –   Elected

· Francis Boahene got one vote (1) and one person abstained (1)                       

Therefore, for the records, Mr. Rex Owusu Marfo (Rex Omar) and Francis Omari Adofo were duly elected as Chairman and Vice respectively.  

The GHAMRO Election Committee wishes to congratulate the membership, aspirants, the Ghana Police Service, and the National Electoral Commission for their turnout, courage, support, and assistance in ensuring a successful peace-themed election.

GHAMRO Pay before play.

New Executives for Ghamro
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -